# MEGHALAYA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

## No. LB.101/LA/2021/12.

#### Dated Shillong, the 23<sup>rd</sup> December, 2021.

## **BULLETIN – PART II**

Decision of Shri Metbah Lyngdoh, Hon'ble Speaker, Meghalaya Legislative Assembly on the petitions filed by Dr. M. Ampareen Lyngdoh for disqualification under the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India.

# <u>ORDER</u>

On 29<sup>th</sup> November, 2021, 10(Ten) petitions were filed and submitted to me by Dr. M. Ampareen Lyngdoh, MLA against Dr. Mukul Sangma, MLA, Shri Marthon Sangma, MLA, Shri Jimmy D. Sangma, MLA, Shri Lazarus M. Sangma, MLA, Smti Miani D. Shira, MLA, Shri H.M. Shangpliang, MLA, Shri George B. Lyngdoh, MLA, Shri Winnerson D. Sangma, MLA, Smti. Dikkanchi D. Shira, MLA and Shri Zenith M. Sangma, MLA for disqualification under the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India. As required, under Rule 7(3)(b) of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 1988, notices were issued from the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Secretariat to the 10(Ten) MLAs, namely Dr. Mukul Sangma, MLA, Shri Marthon Sangma, MLA, Shri Jimmy D. Sangma, MLA, Shri Lazarus M. Sangma, MLA, Smti Miani D. Shira, MLA, Shri H.M. Shangpliang, MLA, Shri George B. Lyngdoh, MLA, Shri Winnerson D. Sangma, MLA, Shri George B. Lyngdoh, MLA, Shri Winnerson D. Sangma, MLA, Shri Jimmy D. Shira, MLA, Shri George B. Lyngdoh, MLA, Shri Winnerson D. Sangma, MLA, Shri H.M. Shangpliang, MLA, Shri George B. Lyngdoh, MLA, Shri Winnerson D. Sangma, MLA, Smti. Dikkanchi D. Shira, MLA and Shri Zenith M. Sangma, MLA asking them to submit their comments on the pleadings in the petitions filed.

Again, on 10<sup>th</sup> December, 2021, 2(Two) more petitions were filed and submitted to me personally by Dr. M. Ampareen Lyngdoh, MLA against Shri Charles Pyngrope, MLA and Shri Shitlang Pale, MLA for disqualification under the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India. As required, under Rule 7(3)(b) of the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 1988, notices were issued from the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly Secretariat to the 2(Two) MLAs, namely Shri Charles Pyngrope, MLA and Shri Shitlang Pale, MLA asking them to submit their comments on the pleadings in the petitions filed.

After examining in detail all the 12(Twelve) petitions filed by the Petitioner Dr. M. Ampareen Lyngdoh, MLA, and the comments received from all the 12(Twelve) Respondents, I am satisfied that the merger of the 12(Twelve) Members of the Indian National Congress is valid as provided under paragraph 4 of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India, and does not attract disqualification. I do not find any merit in the submissions made in the petitions filed by Dr. M. Ampareen Lyngdoh, MLA, and therefore, the same is hereby dismissed.

Dated Shillong, The 23<sup>rd</sup> December, 2021.

Shri Metbah Lyngdoh Speaker, Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

Dr. Andrew Simons, Commissioner & Secretary, Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

Memo No. LB.101/LA/2021/12(A).

Dated Shillong, the 23<sup>rd</sup> December, 2021.