# GOVERNMENT OF MEGHALAYA PLANNING DEPARTMENT

\*\*\*

## ORDERS BY THE GOVERNOR NOTIFICATION

Dated Shillong, the 7<sup>th</sup> July, 2008.

**PLA.16/2008/99** – In continuation to this Department's Notification No.PLA.16/2008/3 dt.26<sup>th</sup> March, 2008, No.PLA.54/91/Pt/9 dt.15<sup>th</sup> April,2008, No.PLA.16/2008/5 dt.13<sup>th</sup> May, 2008 & No.PLA.16/2008/6 dt.13<sup>th</sup> May, 2008, the Governor of Meghalaya is pleased to reconstitute the Meghalaya State Planning Board with the following Members with immediate effect and until further orders:-

- I. 1. Shri P.A.Sangma, MLA ..... Chairman
  - 2. Shri M.Suchiang, Ex-MLA...... Deputy Chairman
  - 3. Dr. W.R.Kharlukhi, Non MLA..... Deputy Chairman
  - 4. Prof. E.D. Thomas, Non MLA..... Deputy Chairman
  - 5. Shri Silkha D.Shira, Non-MLA ......Vice-Chairman

#### II. OFFICIAL MEMBERS

- 1. Chief Secretary
- 2. Additional Chief Secretary
- 3. Principal Secretary/ Commissioner & Secretary, Planning
- 4. Principal Secretary/ Commissioner & Secretary, Finance
- 5. Commissioner & Secretary/ Secretary, Planning Board as Member Secretary

## III. NON OFFICIAL MEMBERS

- 1. Prof. Glen Kharkongor, VC, MLU
- 2. Mr. Phrang Roy, Ex-Vice President, IFAD, Rome (Resource Mobilization including FDI & Rural Development)
- 3. Rev. Fr. Paul Kuttala, Umran RRTC
- 4. Rev. P.B.M. Basaiawmoit
- 5. Shri Rodrique D.Shira, ABDK-Padot
- 6. Mr. Kajol Das, Ex-CE, PWD, Meghalaya
- 7. Mr. Toki Blah, Dev. Activist
- 8. Dr. Henry Lamin, Ex-Minister.

## IV. HONORARY. MEMBERS

- 1. Mr. R.V. Shahi (Power Sector)
- 2. Dr. Suman Sahai (Agriculture and Allied Sectors)
- 3. Dr. (Mrs) Sarala Gopalan (Women & Child Welfare, Public Health)
- 4. Dr. Uma Shangkar Misra, Former Director, CBI (Vigilance & Monitoring)
- 5. Mrs Veena Nayyar, (Empowerment of Women and Self help Group Movement)
- 6. Mr. M.C. Gupta, Rtd. IAS. (Capacity Building, Skill development, Institutions, Games, Sports & Art and Culture)
- 7. Mr. Davy Kurian Manavalan, Rtd. IAS (Water Resources including Rain Water harvesting)
- 8. Mr. S.K. Chowdhary, Ex-Chairman, CIL and President Coal Forum (Mining & Geology)
- 9. Mr. Basant Kumar Goswami, IAS (Rtd.) (Tourism)
- 10. Mr. Abhaya Kashyap (IT, Telecommunication and Logistic hub Youth, Employment Generation)
- 11. Prof. B.D.Singh, (Public Sector, Public Private Partnership) Senior Professor HRM, IMT. Ghaziabad

## V. HONORARY, ADVISERS

- 1. Mr. Subodh Menon (Youths Leader & Chemical Engineer)
- 2. Mr. Balaswamy Akala (Consultants for Minerals & Mining etc., Former CMD of CCL & CMPDIL)

## VI. SPECIAL INVITEE(S)

- 1. Chief Executive Members of 3 (three) Autonomous District Councils.
- 2. Members of Parliament (Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha)

The Chairman, State Planning Board may invite such person(s) as may be considered necessary to any/ all meetings of the State Planning Board.

The function of the Board will be as follows:-

- 1. To prepare an inventory of available and potential resources of the State, Capital and human, resources and investigate the possibilities of augmenting and improving such resources.
- 2. To prepare a perspective plan for the State for the next 15-20 years for the optimum and balanced utilization of the State's resources and indicate plan priorities.
- 3. To advise the Government regarding the formulation of Annual Plans and the Five Year Plan.
- 4. To review the progress in the implementation of the schemes and to ascertain the factors which have been tending to retard economic development of the State and to determine the conditions to be created for successful execution of the plans.
- 5. To take up such other studies and functions as may be assigned to it from time to time and to make suitable recommendations to the State Government as may appear to be appropriate either for facilitating discharge of the duties assigned to it or on consideration of the prevailing economic conditions.

The Board may also make recommendations with a view to ensuring coordination in the matter of Planning in the State.

The Headquarter of the Board will be at Shillong.

Sd/-Dr. Shreeranjan Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya, Planning Department

## Memo No.PLA.16/2008/99 -A,

Dated Shillong, the 7<sup>th</sup> July, 2008.

Copy to:-

- 1. The Principal Secretary to the Governor of Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 2. The Private Secretary to the Chief Minister, Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 3. The Private Secretary to the Deputy Chief Minister, Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 4. The Private Secretary to the Minister, Planning to keep the Minister informed.
- 5. The Private Secretary to the Minister/Minister of State for information of the Minister.
- 6. The Private Secretary to Chairman/Co-Chairman/Deputy Chairmen, State Planning Board, Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 7. The Private Secretary to all Parliamentary Secretary.
- 8. The Private Secretary to Chief Secretary, Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 9. The Accountant General (A&E), Meghalaya, Shillong for information and necessary action.
- 10. All Principal Secretaries/Commissioner & Secretaries/Secretaries to the Govt. of Meghalaya, Shillong.
- 11. The Resident Representative/Principal Resident Commissioner of Meghalaya House,New Delhi/Trade Adviser and Director Movement Meghalaya House Kolkata.
- 12. All Administrative Departments/Heads of Department
- 13. Special Officer & Ex-Officio, Under Secretary, State Planning Board.
- 14. The Secretary, Planning Commission, Yojana Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 15. The Secretary, Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, Shillong.
- 16. The Chairman/Vice-Chairman and all Members of State Planning Board.
- 17. The Chief Executive Member, Khasi Hills/ Jaintia Hills/ Garo Hills Autonomous District Council.
- 18. All Deputy Commissioners/ Sub-Divisional Officers/ District Planning Officers/Block Development Officers.
- 19. Director, Printing & Stationery, Meghalaya, Shillong for publication in the Official Gazette.

By Order etc.,

(Dr.Shreeranjan)
Commissioner & Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya,
Planning Department.